X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New installation of Kubuntu useless

Im totally new to Kubuntu and frankly im not off to a good start

I just installed Kubuntu from a disk on a copy of Linux User & developer no 138 on a hard drive I purchased seperated from my Windows XP also on its own hard drive in my Dell Pentium 4 desktop computer.

It installed ok but apart from booting the computer it does absolutely NOTHING else whatsoever.

It boots into a screen with a set of 4 icons on screen with a hard drive and crossed spanner etc and hangs then writing appears and it presents me with a second screen where I click on my name then it partially re opens the first screen and hangs again and basically thats it. I initially could move the mouse but even that disappeared and the only way out was to push the reset button to get my computer back.

What gives?

Downloading a known good copy of the install disc image would be my first place to start.
    You can grab a 32-bit iso here:
    http://www.kubuntu.org/getkubuntu

My first thought is that there might be a corruption on that dvd, so grabbing an official image will help eliminate that. Also being able to try out Kubuntu in a live session before installing can be helpful

Not knowing what version of Kubuntu is on that dvd, the blurb from the magazine's site says "cutting edge distros", plus the date of release makes me wonder if they slapped a pre release alpha or beta on there.

Comment

There were two discs stuck to the magazine when I got it home. On the disc it says Kubuntu 14.04 beta. It doesnt matter which dic I used the result is the same .

Comment

As Claydoh suggested, you may have a corrupted dvd from the magazine.