This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Partition Question

Hi all, I'm fairly new to Linux. I've played around with some other distros in the past on older machines, but when my Windows box went haywire again 2 months ago, I decided I'd had enough and installed Kubuntu. I've been able to figure most of my problems out by checking docs and trolling the forums but I'm a little impatient on this one.

Before I installed Kubuntu, I copied all of my docs, videos, pictures, etc. to a second hard drive thinking that after I'd installed Kubuntu, I'd simply copy them over. The one thing I forgot to check was the filesystem of the 2nd drive. Of course it was NTFS which has caused me countless hours of headaches. Today I finally got it mounted correctly and was able to access it. I've moved all of the files I want off of it and now would like to repartition and format as ext3. After that I would like to move my /home directory to the second drive.

I am using Qtparted and have successfully created a new partition using all available space on the drive, however when I choose to format it as ext3, everything appears to be fine, but I'm left with the drive still showing "unknown" for a filesystem. What am I missing here?

My second question is: When I do get this thing formatted how do I go about moving the /home directory to the second drive? Can I simply drag n drop the folder in Konqueror or do I need to edit fstab?

Thanks in advance!

Re: Partition Question

While i cant recomends a replacement to qtparted i recomend you look for one because its outdated and is horribly buggy. I'll look and see if there is a decient partiioner and get back to you. that should slove the problem unless i missed somthing.

obtw: i'll say the obvouse. are you ok with the command line if so use cfdisk that may work but i'll keep looking for a gui partioner.

Comment