This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Learning about

Where do I go to learn about Kubuntu? My background is with Windows PCs so I will need to be taught to think like a linux user.

it might help if you could be a little more specific about that which you want to learn.

CLI?
    activities?
    widgets?
    normal desktop?

woodsmoke

Comment

HOWTO find Kubuntu's manual / reference / guide / documentation / help: http://www.kubuntuforums.net/showthr...mentation-help
      A good place to start: Topic: Top 20 Kubuntu FAQs & Answers
      Searching FAQ's: Google Search 'FAQ from Kubuntuforums'

Comment

All of it woodsmoke, assume that I know absolutely nothing about Kubuntu an bring me up to your level of understanding of Kubuntu.

Comment

Welcome to Linux, and welcome to Kubuntu Forums.

First, I'd encourage you to read the wonderful essay Linux is NOT Windows. While some of what you know will transfer, some will not. Many newcomers get frustrated because they fail to understand that Linux is different, and some of your Windows muscle memory won't work here.

Next, spend some time getting comfortable with the command line. Linux does not try to hide this. Certain distros might attempt to, but I feel this puts users at a disadvantage. GUIs are wonderful (and KDE is the best, mmmhmm), but certain tasks simply work better in a console window.

I would also recommend the KDE User Base, which has some tutorials, and the KDE documentation.

Comment

http://ubuntuguide.org/wiki/Kubuntu_Raring
            "A problem well stated is a problem half solved." --Charles F. Kettering
            "Sometimes the questions are complicated and the answers are simple."--Dr. Seuss

Comment