X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Basic Security

Hello all,

I am fairly new to Linux, I have some experience with Ubuntu server, but thatś it.
    I figured most of my things out in the last few weeks, I have done some testing in Virtual Machines. Just so I could make changes undone very fast.
    I installed Kubuntu on my laptop last weekend, but now, there's only 1 question bothering me.. what should I do to secure my laptop?
    some basic info:
    kind of computer is a laptop, one wired NIC, one wireless NIC and bluetooth integrated. It's a dual-boot of Windows 8 and Kubuntu 12.10(fully updated),
    I use it on lots of unsecured networks(school mainly), and I would like some advice on how to secure.
    I got UFW in place as firewall, closed down most of my ports(default policy denied, only allowed out are skype, transmission, and destination ports 80, 443, 993),
    I will also finish installing "Tiger" after this(advice from the person who talked me into Linux)

but I would like to know if I should do more, like Intrusion detection and prevention, Port scanning detection, and Anti-virus?
    if so, what would you guys advice? I prefer GUI, but is not necessary(I dislike a web interface, unless it can be secured against external access).

I hope this isn't misplaced, I just need some advice, I am kind of lost in all the advices given on other websites, which are based on servers mostly.

thanks for reading, and helping out,
    kind regards,
    Frank

My security worries aren't that high as I'm anti-paranoia, but I usually install rkhunter. Most Linux anti-virus software detects windows viruses that pass through your system via email or other ways so I don't bother with them - not my problem. You should have AppArmor installed by default but I always remove it and I don't know how to configure it or if it's worth it. Sounds to me like you've done almost everything you need to do.

Please Read Me

Comment