This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Enabling Audio through hdmi

Hi there. I just started my journey into linux, and have test drove 3 different distros. I settled on Kubuntu because i like the look. Can you tell I am a newb yet? Anyway, I have it dual booting on a HP dv5. It has a dual core centrino with an onboard GEforce 9200. I have installed the (current) GPU drivers, and have been able to use Nvidia controller X to get video out of hdmi. Now audio out to hdmi being a pita. I have gone into Phonen, and selected all varibles of hdmi, and i lose sound out of the laptop, without audio playback from the Vizio Tv I have connected. I have opened Alsa mixer, and there is no sound bar for hdmi. I have tried using pavucontrol, and adjusting the audio there as well. I have read through some guides trying to find my problem, and have come out wwith nothing. I am very new to all of this, but am a quick learner. Would anyone want to help me get this set up? I have been going at it for a couple of days, and feel like the answer is just eluding me while i am beating my head against a wall. I jst need some guidance. If I need to clarify my set up, or have forgotten important details, just let me know as this is my first post here. Thanks in Advance....
    Kubuntu version 12.04
    KDE version 4.8.5
    Computer HP dv5
    Cpu dual core 2 gig
    Gpu Nvidia GeForce 9200m
    Ram 4 gigs
    Display twinview Laptop, and 32 inch Vizio

when you have alsamixer open is the PCM channel up ?
    on the Audio setup page chang just this one

VINNY
    i7 4core HT 8MB L3 2.9GHz
    16GB RAM
    Nvidia GTX 860M 4GB RAM 1152 cuda cores

Comment