This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Disable IPV6 in Kubuntu 12.10 64bit.

I'm new to Kubuntu which is why I'm asking for help with what I'm sure is a very basic question for a more experienced user. I bought a new laptop with Windows 8 with the untention of installing Ubuntu. Eventually I decided I just couldn't live with Ubuntu, it was very buggy and difficult to get on with due to very illogical user interfaces. In the end I went with Kubuntu which is far more logical. The issue I'm trying to address is the slow internet which I hear can be fixed by disabling the IPV6. After a lot of hours googling I found instructions to disable it with code which doesn't work in Kubuntu. I cannot find a working method to do this with Kubuntu but I have managed to figure out that the IPV6 is set on my PC. Any help with this would be massively appreciated because I'm really not keen on the idea of going back to any version of Windows.

I wrote down these methods. I believe both work. Method 2 requires no command line action if you have the Grub2 Bootloader system settings module installed (kde-config-grub2).

Method 1:

/etc/sysctl.conf

# IPv6
    net.ipv6.conf.all.disable_ipv6 = 1
    net.ipv6.conf.default.disable_ipv6 = 1
    net.ipv6.conf.lo.disable_ipv6 = 1

then sysctl -p

Method 2:

GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT=”ipv6.disable=1 quiet splash”

Comment