This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Windows 8 inaccessible after installing Kubuntu 12.10

I've finally installed Kubuntu after struggling with Windows 8 Secure Boot for days. I partitioned my hard drive with GParted from an Ubuntu Live USB and then installed Kubuntu 12.10 in one of the partitions. During installation, I pointed the Kubuntu boot loader at what I think is the boot partition on my hard drive.

So Kubuntu is now installed. But Kubuntu just directly booted up when I turn on the laptop. I was not given an option to choose between Operating systems on boot.

How do I access Windows 8 then? How can I enable the option to choose which OS to boot when I turn on the laptop?

Also, I'm a complete Linux newbie. Can someone please point me to some comprehensive guide to Kubuntu/Linux?

Some additional info: I'm running a Toshiba Satellite with an AMD A8-4500 processor. It has 8GB of RAM. As stated before, it also runs Windows 8 (I hope)

Comment

Hold down the Shift Key and keep it held down while booting. That will bring up the boot menu.

Comment

That didn't work.

I want a BIOS/UEFI prompt that automatically asks me what OS I want to boot every time I turn on my laptop. I know it's possible, I remember having it set up that way before.

Comment

OK, that's strange. A few people have said that doesn't work.... it works for me.

To get the grub menu to show, you could edit /etc/default/grub as outlined here or you can install Grub Customizer to do it via a GUI.

Set the timeout to 5 seconds or something, so you have time to select which grub menu item you want to use.

Comment

Apparently my wireless card isn't recognized so I can't access GRUB Customizer over the internet.

And the wall of text in the other link is giving me a headache. I tried this:

Editing the File