X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

No Network Card Installed Problem - Kubuntu 8.04

Hi everyone,

I am quite new to both Kubuntu and Linux. You can say i just started using linux yesterday. So my questions may seem absurd, but hey, i am the newbie right?

Why did i start using linux? Actually i had to, because "Caldera Rip software" doesn't work with any other OS, but Kubuntu 8.04.

So, if we get over the introduction part;

I installed Kubuntu 8.04 and the Caldera softrip(don't ask "how did you even do that", i managed to do it some how, with some help), but my computer says you don't have any network/ethernet card installed. Well, i know, i have one and running, because it works fine with windows boot. I searched a lot before opening the thread, but couldn't find an easy guide for "hey, i don't know what i am doing" people(yes, people like me). Actually i don't need my ethernet for internet connection but to plug my wide format printing machine(it works only with Ethernet/Lan cable). I guess if i can make the ethernet card work, then i can solve the rest by my self.

By reading the New Guy guide, i learned that you need some info before you can start to help me, so here it is;

My ethernet card is : Atheros AR8152 PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller(NDIS 6.20)
    intel core i3 cpu M380@2.53ghz
    3 gb ram
    win7 64bit

DISTRIB_ID=Ubuntu
    DISTRIB_RELEASE=8.04
    DISTRIB_CODENAME=hardy
    DISTRIB_DESCRIPTION="Ubuntu 8.04.1"

caldera@caldera-laptop:~$ apt-cache show grub
    Package: grub
    Priority: optional
    Section: admin
    Installed-Size: 832
    Maintainer: Ubuntu Kernel Team <kernel-team@lists.ubuntu.com>
    Architecture: i386
    Version: 0.97-29ubuntu21
    Provides: linux-boot-loader
    Depends: debconf (>= 1.5.19) | cdebconf, libc6 (>= 2.4), libncurses5 (>= 5.6+20071006-3), ucf (>= 3.004-0ubuntu2), udev (>= 117-5)
    Suggests: grub-doc, mdadm
    Description: GRand Unified Bootloader