This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Tips for the newbie please

Hi, I've just stumbled into the world of Linux(it's been overdue) after revamping an old i686 PC that had a bloated XP install. I nuked my hard drive with Dariks boot and nuke for a nice clean OS install and decided to go with Kubuntu. So this is my first time using Linux and i'd like to delve into things and find a few things out.
    Not sure where to start though I've had a few pop ups and let things install on their own, but i've heard it's all about the using the konsole/terminal and apt-get.... etc etc. Where should i start first? What to install? I'm interested in the network side of things but i'm open to suggestions. Hope i'm not to vauge and you can start me on my Kubuntu/Linux journey.

Any links, advice and reading material please feel free to launch at me.

Release 12.04
    Version: 0.97-29ubuntu66
    KDE Platform Version 4.8.2(4.8.2)
    Architecture: i686
    CPU op-mode(s): 32-bit
    Byte Order: Little Endian
    CPU(s): 1
    On-line CPU(s) list: 0
    Thread(s) per core: 1
    Core(s) per socket: 1
    Socket(s): 1
    Vendor ID: AuthenticAMD
    CPU family: 6
    Model: 8
    Stepping: 1
    CPU MHz: 2010.289
    BogoMIPS: 4020.57
    L1d cache: 64K
    L1i cache: 64K
    L2 cache: 256K
    1.5 GB RAM
    1 Internal Harddrive with 75.8GB Free
    1 Optical Drive Defunct/
    1 CDRW OK
    Last edited by TheMatureStudent; May 24, 2012, 07:00 AM. Reason: Forgot to put my specs at the bottom

Welcome to Kubuntu!

After I do a clean install, there are a few packages that I always install first.

Kubuntuguide (http://ubuntuguide.org/wiki/Kubuntuguide) is a great resource to learn about the various programs available to Kubuntu.

The very first thing I always do is enable the proprietary video drivers (if you have a Nvidia card. just click the blue "K" button at the bottom left, and search "additional drivers"