This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Should I switch?

Hi, new to this OS. Before I DL and install, I'd like to know some things first.

1. How good is driver support? When I put my new rig together with the new Ivy Bridge and Z77 board with a 600 series Nvidia GPU, will I have problems? (I will also have an SSD)

2. Will this install past and newer games? I game a lot but also do a lot of Graphics and webdesign. Will this install and work well with past and current programs?

3. Is this really that big of an improvement over Win 7? I understand most MS haters will quickly say yes, but I'm not a programmer. I don't want to be, and not a hacker either. I'll leave both those to my dad and bro.

The only reasons I could give you for wanting to change is I'd like a quicker OS. Also more secure and stable?

Thanks...

download and burn the live cd. and try it out. if everything is working then after install everything should remain working.(the live cd will not make any changes to your system unless you choose to install)

as for your windows games/programs . it depends on the game/program and how well they work with wine. driver support depends on the device itself. idk about nvidia cards. but if it works for the live disk it will work when installed.
    Last edited by sithlord48; Apr 04, 2012, 12:54 PM.
    Mark Your Solved Issues [SOLVED]
    (top of thread: thread tools)

Comment

All that sithlord48 said. Burning and trying a LiveCD is the smart way to go. It allows you to 'try before buying' as it were. Generally, if everything works running from a LiveCD - network connections; web browsing; sound; video (for DVDs and other proprietary formats, you will have to install other packages [programs] in order to use these, but they are available and not hard to get.
      Last edited by Snowhog; May 05, 2012, 10:00 AM.
      Using Kubuntu Linux since March 23, 2007