GRUB error

hello

i am new in linux enviroment.
    situation:

i have 3 hdd:
    1st - 250gb windows7 (was bootable)
    2nd - 500gb for data
    3th - for linux

i installed latest kubuntu version (from this site) on hdd3. when comp starts i can see grub loader with some options (linux, safemode linux, memstest, ect,.. and windows on \dev\hda\bla-bla-bla.....)
    if i disconnect 3th hdd i got just got something like: "grub rescue no such device <1234-fcukyou-............> " and no winos boot.

sry for my english ant ty for any help

Originally posted by todaz View Post
    if i disconnect 3th hdd i got just got something like: "grub rescue no such device <1234-fcukyou-............> " and no winos boot.
    Grub has to boot from somewhere, and on a simple Kubuntu/Windows dual boot it installs itself to /boot/grub on the linux drive. You disconnected it, and disconnected grub with it.

I suggest sending a message to the grub 2 mailing list at help-grub@gnu.org, they are responsive there.
    Last edited by jlittle; Feb 23, 2012, 04:52 AM.
    Regards, John Little

Comment

[QUOTE=jlittle;289019]Grub has to boot from somewhere, and on a simple Kubuntu/Windows dual boot it installs itself to /boot/grub on the linux drive. You disconnected it, and disconnected grub with it.

hello,
      i understand that.
      i do not understand what grub does on my second hdd, when kubuntu was installed on 3th hdd?
      and broke my windows boot.
      ty a lot for response(s)

Comment

Grub is one thing, and Kubuntu is another thing. Installing Kubuntu on hdd #3 does not automatically install grub on hdd #3, especially on some computers where another hdd has the "boot" flag set on it.

Probably you installed grub to the mbr of the the first hdd (Windows). When you boot, grub looks for the devices that it expects, based on the configuration that was set when you installed it. With hdd #3 removed, it finds a problem and can't offer the menu as expected.