Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Simple Offline Usb Package management?!?!?!

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Simple Offline Usb Package management?!?!?!

Keryx seems to have gone fully commercial but at the time of this posting the site is under construction without documentation or a working download link.

I have another idea but I'm no developer...

Simple Offline Usb Package management

Yeah, uh-kay... People are still pointing to Keryx, which was promising while it lasted but it's now fully commercial $$$ and the website is currently broken/under construction withOUT a download or support.

From what I saw of keryx_0.92.4.1, it seemed to work okay on the garden variety Windows XP box but was not quite so automagic on my wonky Kubuntu 8.04 box. Methinks a dependency, perhaps python.
    ==========================
    Requirements
    ==========================

Windows: None

Linux: Python, wxPython

Ubuntu users need the following packages in order to have wxPython successfully
    installed:

libwxbase2.8-0
    libwxgtk2.8-0
    python-wxversion
    python-wxgtk2.8

wxPython is only required for using Keryx's interface. Project creation can be
    done via command line parameters. See USAGE for more information.

About the commercialization, I wonder if Keryx should be bound by a GPL/LGPL, etc. Since it's, in part, based on GNU/Linux. It has components that run under Windows and Linux. Does charging a fee, instead of asking for donations violate the letter of the law of the GPL? It's sure against the spirit of "free and open" Software!!!

I also got referred to "Sushi, huh?" and "Huh" is just what I uttered. From the read-me file generated by the .deb package:

Read Carrefully!!!
    ==================