This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Finally got Amarok to stream MP3

Hello. Installed a live cd of Kubuntu Friday morning (four days ago) and I have just finished setting it up to stream some radio stations. I've done nothing else (except eat and sleep) in this time. This is the story of my journey if you are interested - I will obviously have to leave out some major chunks...

First, I am a Linux Noob. I have a couple of other distros I have been running off and on for about a year. They work perfectly for what I want to do and have had to do very little tweaking of them 'out of the box'.
    I don't have any installed to my hd just yet - looking for that special one if you know what I mean. I found Kubuntu and thought I would give it a spin.

Second, I build systems and do a bit of programming, so I am not exactly a Noob when it comes to computers in general. I consider myself more a 'power user' though than a boffin. I'd love to hack the Linux Kernel, but quite frankly, my brain don't have the chops... There are those that know...etc. etc.

Ok. Enough background. This is what I wanted to achieve:
    Install Kubuntu 11.10 on a 4GB SD card. Quicker than Live CD and with persistence. A potential candidate for my HD.

All images have been checked with HashCalc and not just the dl'd .iso files but the actual burnt images themselves i.e. CD, or SD card, or USB stick. I used the built in 'Check Disk Integrity' option on boot of each Kubuntu install I have done. I don't know if there is another way to do this that is better. I had a look on the official Ubuntu site about checking images within Ubuntu and my brain exploded. Actually, it didn't explode, I just realised that I was not intelligent enough to follow the steps as they had been given to me. Hopefully someone will tell me if this method is inadequate (the boot option). So for now I take it on good faith that this is a reliable method.

Ok.