X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

bash script, differential backup

Hey guys,
    I am very new to bash scripts and I realize there are ways I could have done a single backup script but the way I started out seemed to be easier to me at the time. Basically I have one script that I will run on Sunday which copies a full backup of the directory: /var/www/html/SocProjects
    and places it in directory: /home/erind/socprojects_backups/$b/SocProjects.$a

a=$(date +%H:%M--%d_%m_%Y)
    b=$(date +%m_%d_%Y)

Now I want to have another script that I plan to run twice a day that makes a differential copy. Im not sure how to do this. Should I use tar or rsync? Since the pathname to the full backup will change each week (since the date will change) I wasnt sure if this will be a problem when the differential is made. Also I want to do a differential rather than an incremental because size isnt much of an issue and I felt that restoring from a differential would be easier for a newbie like me.

Thanks for any help,

Erin
    System Information<br />Distro: Ubuntu 11.04<br />KDE: Platform Version 4.6.2<br />Grub: 0.97-29ubuntu61.1 GRand Unified Bootloader (Legacy version)<br /><br />PC Hardware:<br />laptop HP Pavilion dv6<br />CPU: AMD Turion(tm) II P520 Dual-Core Processor<br />GPU: ATI Technologies Inc M880G [Mobility Radeon HD 4200]

Re: bash script, differential backup

I'm not sure what a differential copy is, but have you tried rdiff-backup ?

I use it via a daily cron, and it works well.

Comment

im sort of trying to write these scripts myself as a learning exercise, but good to know about rdiff-backup for future needs
      System Information<br />Distro: Ubuntu 11.04<br />KDE: Platform Version 4.6.2<br />Grub: 0.97-29ubuntu61.1 GRand Unified Bootloader (Legacy version)<br /><br />PC Hardware:<br />laptop HP Pavilion dv6<br />CPU: AMD Turion(tm) II P520 Dual-Core Processor<br />GPU: ATI Technologies Inc M880G [Mobility Radeon HD 4200]

Comment