This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Proxy issues

I'm totally new to proxies, I used tutorials on youtube, and text tutorials on different sites to try to set up a proxy, however I have had no luck, I keep getting a message that says it failed to work, although it takes a few minutes tfor that to pop up. Instead of detailing the many, many steps I have taken to try to get it to work, it might just be easier to get step by step instructions on what to do from someone who knows. At one point while I had my browser attempting to connect to a proxy I also had issues with VLC media player, it simply would not stay open, it would open for a second then shut right down, as soon as I told the browser(chrome) to directly connect to the internet VLC worked fine again.

As an addendum, I honestly am not to concerned about my surfing habits being observed, however I would like to be untraceable while downloading torrents, I have gone into ktorrent (its what i use i kinda like it) into the proxy setting, set the IP and port of the proxy I want to use, And so far I have no issues with downloads or uploads, however I'm not sure how to know whether it is actually functioning as I think it is. Again I'm very new to this, so go easy in the replies, assume I know NOTHING

Re: Proxy issues

A few things.
    One Proxy:

On which machine will you be installing a proxy. If it is one machine you are dowmloading then the proxy is not going to help you hide what you are downloading.

For your use you would need to rent a server at hetzner - DONT USE INFINITECH. So when you are downloading everyone will see the external server as the download source at not your home ip.

THis is also a way to get netflix working if you dont live in the us. Rent a server in the us and setup a proxy then via the internet via the proxy and netflix with think you are in the US.

As for setting up the proxy i use squid.

See below steps to get working

Code: