This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Dumb question

Hello all, im new to linux. Just joined yesterday out of curiosity.

I have downloaded ununtu 11.04 via wubi onto my laptop and then also managed to install kde onit aswell.

At the moment... Kubuntu seems like an easy system to use. For me its like a smartfone set up... I.e. If you want new apps or software then you go to the software or package manager. Alot like the app store!!

Today i thought i would join a forum to help with queries for the future, and came accross usefull links for the newbie...

I am totaly confused now.... And here come the stupid dumb questions...

After all the reading im still not 100% sure what the purpose of a 'shell' is?? And why i need it if i can click onto files anyways?? Is it so that for the computer literate its easier to access and carry out tasks??

What 'apt'? Is that a shell? Is it the package or software manager?? Do i need to use that for updates and new software?? Or can i use the actual icons (package/software manager)

Sorry for the stupid question guys.. I am that new to computers. Lol!! I think i just about understand the difference between package and software manager. But not 100% on that either.

It sounds like i should hav just stayed with windows... But i do enjoy the simple click and install thingy on kubuntu. I just dont get :- shell, command, apt, sudo etc...

Iky

Re: Dumb question

Just to add to the rambling above:- what i am actualy trying to get out of the question is this -

Can i just use kubuntu by using the windows rather than using - shell, apt, sudo, command etc....?

I am mostly going to use my computer for internet, downloading music, tv, movies and watching them.

And office uses. i.e. Word, excell etc.

Cheers

Iky

Comment

First, there is NO SUCH THING as a dumb question

Have a look at "An Introduction to the Linux Command Line" - http://www.makeuseof.com/tag/an-intr...-command-line/