This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Mouseclick and Keyboard unresponsive, but can move mouse on Kubuntu 10.10

Greetings, I'm getting quite frustrated here.

I'm ATTEMPTING to build a File server on a VOTAC Atom-ION system I bought a year ago for this very purpose (put on the back burner due to a move), and running into a string of issues.

The LATEST of my issues is that sporadically, my mouse click and keyboard ability goes up in smoke, with the only fix I've found being a hard reboot of the system.
    As I'm a windows server admin at work, I used my Adept Google skills to find a solution. The best I got was this twofold; bug report on Kubuntu 10.10 (https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/ma...ux/+bug/636311) that according to commenter has a workaround I can't find in it; and a Comment that advises reinstalling the "iputattach" package.
    I tried the second one to have, and lost the ability to click at "simulating the remove" which is finished and just sitting there.

Due to my MicroSquash experience I am loath to reboot in the middle of an application or driver install/uninstall; and If I read the package info right it appears to be the more dangerous of the two, a driver (for legacy serial attached keyboards, mice, joysticks, etc: of which I have none, I'm all USB).

So my question is threefold:
    1) Am I relatively safe rebooting right now?
    2) How do I fix my loss of clicks?
    3) Should I just reinstall Kubuntu 10.4? Is 10.10 unstable enough to be unsuitable for an always-on system like a fileserver? (IE will I get at least 2 nines out of it: I'm not demanding.)