X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Waiting for Authorization

Hello everybody.

I'm new to Kubuntu, and the entire scene of operating systems outside of Windows. I'm young, but willing to learn as much as possible. So sorry if this seems to be the nth time you've had this question.

Anyways, just installed Kubuntu last night(after many problems) connected my NETGEAR WG111v2 to try and get internet up and running- no luck. I sat there staring at the konsole and then my laptop trying to figure out what I should do by reading forum posts,but they all seemed dated so I did not want to screw anything up by doing it wrong.

Newbie guide stuff:
    10.10 Kubuntu
    Not wubi
    4.5.1 KDE
    2.6.3-3 Grub?

All the other stuff seems to be useless for my situation.

I am using the Netgear WGR V7

Thanks forany help in adnanvce.

Re: Waiting for Authorization

Laptop: Make? Model?

Try two commands to discover your Wifi card. Input them in Konsole Terminal Program
    lspci
    or lsusb
    (That's l for lemur, not I for India)

What result do you get against: Network Controller

If possible copy and paste the result here.
    "A problem well stated is a problem half solved." --Charles F. Kettering
    "Sometimes the questions are complicated and the answers are simple."--Dr. Seuss

Comment

Oh, I'm sorry, I meant to post I'm using a desktop AMD 64bit, Phenomx6, 5770

Comment

Still do the two commands...
        "Sometimes the questions are complicated and the answers are simple."--Dr. Seuss

Comment

Bus OO2 Device 003: ID Ob38:0010 Gear Head 107-Key Keyboard

Bus 001 Device 004 ID 0846:4260 Netgear, Inc. WG111v3 54MBPS Wireless [realtek RTL8187B]

I just bought this adapter today, upgraded from the V2 Prism based I had earlier. From what I understand the realtek chipsets usually work out of the box right?