This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Networking with Windows Computers

Need some help with this. I am new to Linux, though I have tried it on and off since Red Hat 4. I'm pretty competent with Windows and had experience many years ago with Xenix (early 90's), so I'm not really new to command line.

I have built a home server using an oldish DELL Precision Workstation with Ubuntu server 10.10. I couldn't handle not seeing what was happening, so I installed the Kubuntu desktop. The network has a Linksys Wireless router which is the dhcp server. It has two Windows 7 computers connected (one wired & one wireless) with a networked Canon Multifunction and the occasional use of a wireless connected laptop with Windows 7.

Once I got the server up and running, I set up a network connection and share using Samba as per the Kubuntu documentation. I was able to see the server from both Windows Computer and create directories in /srv/samba/share from the Windows Computers. All good so far, except this portion took the best part of 2 hours to get up and running after trying to get NFS working.

I then looked around for a network back up program and wanted to update the nVidia display drivers. I updated the display drivers using the KPackageKit and also found a program called BackupPC, which appeared to be what I wanted. This was also installed using KPackageKit but not yet configured.

I then found that my Windows computers could no longer see the Kubuntu server. I can see the Windows computers and the Canon from within the server but not the other way. Internet access from the server is fine. When I initially setup the sharing, I could see the server OK even before I set up the samba share folder, but not now.