X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

kubuntu natively run other binary packages

hey there,
    as you can see i only have a few posts on this forum, i'm new to this and linux in general but i'm learning fast.

i had the chance to read alot of stuff on linux (or should i say gnu/linux :P), but i could't find any topic on (i don't know if it even possible) running other binary packages on ubuntu. i also know that there's a program called alien that can convert between formats but that's not my point

like for example installing an .rpm just like you would normally install a .deb on my kubuntu sistem

as far as i understand open source software can be shared and modified by everyone so there must be a way of taking the files from opensuse for example that have to do with reading .rpm's and implement them to kubuntu. now my question is....can that be done by a complete newbie like me or does it require a techie ?

the reason i'm asking u this is that i found and extremely light distro of linux that works flawlessly with my very old pc, tiny core linux and it would be sooooo sweet if i could make it run and read .deb files (curently it's using .tcz)

i'm waiting forward for your responses

Re: kubuntu natively run other binary packages

*buntu distributions are a variant of the Debian branch of Linux. Packages for Debian are built into .deb files.

Alien will indeed "convert" between .deb and .rpm packages. HOWEVER, alien cannot resolve dependency issues -- it only restructures the package. So don't think any .rpm package that you can discover will automatically run correctly on a random Debian distribution -- that's far from reality.

There's a great instruction online somewhere on "How to build a Debian package" -- I'll post it when I find it.