This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[SOLVED] Cant install 10.04.1

Hi everyone, first post in the forum here, i took some time to look around and quickly realize i would never find what i was looking for. Lemme give you a quick background of what type of newb you're dealing with here. I'm not a TOTAL newb im working on a homebuilt PC:

Desktop PC - Windows 7 (32 bit)
    Intel Core 2 Duo (32 Bit)
    NVidia GeForce 9500 GT
    2 GB - RAM
    1 - 320 GB HD
    1 - Sony DVD/CD Read Write Optical Drive

I'll be starting school in September for computer networking and technical support. Once i got my schedule i realized one of my first classes would be: Introduction to Unix/Linux. Assuming i could get a head start in learning the basics i went ahead and downloaded Kubuntu 10.04.1 (32 bit) and burned the image file to DVD. I then shrank a volume (30 GB) for the install. Restarted the PC and booted from the DVD and all seemed to move along perfectly, i was asked to select a language (english) then i had the options such as: Try Kubuntu without changing your PC and Install Kubuntu. I selected install Kubuntu and Recieved a command prompt with the following message:

(initramfs) mount: mounting /dev/loop0 on //filesystem.squashfs failed: input/output error

Any help at all would make my week. If you need ANY additional information, just ask

Thanks in advance, Frank.

Re: Cant install 10.04.1

Prolly you made a coaster. Check out #1 on the "Top 20" in my signature. Burn it as slow as you can next time, and you may get a better result.

Comment

Like Dibl said ...