This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

help a noob with installing.

To say I’m new at this is a vast understatement. My current desktop is out of commission, which is why I’m in need of a new OS. Because of this I don’t have a DVD burner. Yesterday I downloaded what I thought was a Kubuntu ISO with the intent of copying it to my usb drive and installing it on my desktop from there. My laptop is recognizing the downloaded file as a zip file. Do I need to unzip this file and create an ISO from everything in there, Is the zip file actualy an ISO meaning I just copy the zip file to my thumb drive, or something else?

Re: help a noob with installing.

You can't just 'copy' the .iso file to the USB. The .iso file must be 'burned' using software that will write to CD (or DVD if you downloaded the alternate .iso - you'll know, because the size of the .iso 'alternate' is over a gibabyte). If you need to create a bootable thumbdrive (USB Stick), there is software that will do this. I'm at work, but search the forum here, as there are howto's on doing just that.
    Windows no longer obstructs my view.
    Using Kubuntu Linux since March 23, 2007.
    "It is a capital mistake to theorize before one has data." - Sherlock Holmes

Comment

Ok so the new plan is to use Unetbootin to create a bootable usb, and load that on my desktop. Note, my desktop currently does not have a functioning OS, I only have bios.

Does this sound like it will work?

also, Eventhough i do not have a DVD burner at my disposal currently I do have a CD burner, would it be possible/easier to make a load disc with that?

Comment

Originally posted by giser3546
        Ok so the new plan is to use Unetbootin to create a bootable usb, and load that on my desktop. Note, my desktop currently does not have a functioning OS, I only have bios.

Does this sound like it will work?
        yes it should.......as long as your BIOS will boot USB/removable drives