X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I really screwed something up with Grub [Solved]

Hey,

I'm a complete newbie to linux.

I have a 500gb drive, an 80gb and a 10gb.

I originally installed kubuntu on the 10gb, but soon realized I wanted to switch to using kubuntu as my primary os.

So I installed it on my 80gb drive, only to restart and find
    error: no such disk
    grub rescue>

I couldn't even boot windows, which is on the 500gb drive.

After much searching and neither fixmbr or fixboot working to fix the windows installation, I found lilo -M to do the trick. Yay Windows boots, but no grub loader. So I tried to reinstall grub, and disable the windows drive and now i get something like

error: cannot find C/H/S values
    grub rescue>

re-enabled windows drive, same thing.

Ideally I'd rather not have a boot menu, and just default to booting kubuntu. I'd use win xp for games, but I don't do that much, so I'd rather disable a drive when not using it.

Thanks

Re: I really screwed something up with Grub

If there is no important data on either the 80gb or 10 gb You could try to reload Kubuntu to the 10 gb and mount the 80 gb as storage, see my trials here. http://kubuntuforums.net/forums/inde...opic=3110535.0
    As far as I know the boot order is specified in bios, so as long as you set that to look for your 10 gb first it should work. If I am wrong someone please correct me.
    3 machines running Kubuntu9.10 still working on the dual boot and sharing a printer with win 7

Comment

There is nothing important on either the 80 or 10. They're fresh installs.

The 80gb used to be windows, but I backed up all that information to the 500gb.

The 10 right now is un-partitioned. I guess I could try to install on the 10 again. It's a really old drive, thats why I don't want to use it. Then again I guess it wouldn't matter so much if it ended up being just a system drive.

Comment

Q - do eney of the drives still have a windows instalation?