X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Toshiba NB200 and Kubuntu Netbook

Hello all!

So with the end of the Windows 7 Release Candidate's usability I'm looking to jump ship to a Linux distro - I wanted to use Linux when I first bought my netbook, a Toshiba NB200, last summer, but Ubuntu, Xubuntu, and Ubuntu Netbook Remix all didn't have good enough support for the hardware (specifically problems with the wireless, the sound, the bluetooth, and the hotkeys - plus some other problems that were less relevant to me). I have some past successful experience with other distros, but none with Kubuntu.

My perfect situation would be dual booting XP with a Linux distro, but I've never succeeded in installing XP without a CD drive, so I'm going to see if I can get Linux working in the next week (the W7 RC starts to shut down every two hours from next Monday) and then worry about dual booting at some future date.

My questions are: does anyone have any experience of Kubuntu on the NB200? How stable is the Netbook version of Kubuntu generally, and how good hardware support does it have? Will my data (on a separate partition but the same internal drive) be safe if I wipe my windows partition, make a partition for Kubuntu in its place, and install Kubuntu?

Re: Toshiba NB200 and Kubuntu Netbook

I have an NB205 -- I love it. I happen to have sidux installed on it, but I originally installed E-Live on it. Too bad I had to buy a Windows XP Home Edition license with it. The first thing I did was to boot a Parted Magic Live CD (via external CD ROM drive) and use Clonezilla to make an image of the hard drive, so I could restore it to "as new" if I need to.

So, here's what I know: