This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

partition problem

So I am using Kubuntu and I love this operating system. I have to say that before I get crucified for what I am about to post. I want to try and set up a duel boot on my Lab top. I intend on having windows and kubuntu on the same computer, I know that if i install windows it will try and take over my computer so I want to format my partitions and set aside the right amount of memory so that windows does not take over, I am just a newbie so perhaps this might not be the best way to go about accomplishing what I intend on doing. I am hoping somebody out there can point me in the right direction.

Re: partition problem

The definitive dual-booting guide: Windows 7, Linux, Vista and XP step-by-step

You'll want to configure your HD (set up partitions) for use before you begin. GParted - a LiveCD - is what most use and recommend for doing this.
    Windows no longer obstructs my view.
    Using Kubuntu Linux since March 23, 2007.
    "It is a capital mistake to theorize before one has data." - Sherlock Holmes

Comment

Thanks, I thought there was a way to resize partitions in the shell, but that just shows how much I know.

Comment

There is, but you will be much better off if you do it using GParted.

Comment

Thanks for the reply. So I am checking out the gparted website, as i understand it, this is a program that is downloaded and then burned on to CD. Is that right? do I then boot from the CD and follow the instructions as needed? When i do try to format my partitions, are there certain partitions that I should be aware not to mess/delete? I currently have my labtop as a dual boot with KDE and Gnome, I prefer the Kubuntu more so this is the one I am looking to keep, I do not care if I lose Gnome completely and have already saved all my important files from my computer to an external hardrive. Any words of advice?

Comment

pleas post the output of

Code:
            sudo fdisk -l