This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

problem with instaling drivers

hello, i'm new to linux but i got few things on my own. i tried to instal wireless driver, so i went on administration->hardware drivers. linux found some drivers: "Broadcom STA wireless driver" and "ATI/AMD propietary FGLRX graphics driver".

when i try to activate wireless driver, it starts downloading and then software freezes. i can do everything else but this doesn't respond neither on close. i didn't try to use command "kill" because i dunno it

similar happens to second driver when i try to activate it, it downloads and then freezes...

help me, i don't know what else to do...

Re: problem with instaling drivers

Originally posted by frozen_djA
    hello, i'm new to linux but i got few things on my own. i tried to instal wireless driver, so i went on administration->hardware drivers. linux found some drivers: "Broadcom STA wireless driver" and "ATI/AMD propietary FGLRX graphics driver".

when i try to activate wireless driver, it starts downloading and then software freezes. i can do everything else but this doesn't respond neither on close. i didn't try to use command "kill" because i dunno it

similar happens to second driver when i try to activate it, it downloads and then freezes...

help me, i don't know what else to do...
    If you need to download the drivers without an Internet link, try this thread:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1368699
    Robert Collard, Springfield, IL<br />Dell Inspiron 1545 Laptop, Intel Duo T3400 CPUs @2.16Ghz<br />Xubuntu 9.10 x86_64

Comment

i already tried that...

Comment

i already tried that...
        Okay, open Terminal and type in :
        sudo apt-get install b43-fwcutter

If you get an error then try the following link:
        Step by step link at:

http://dimitar.me/?p=728
        Robert Collard, Springfield, IL<br />Dell Inspiron 1545 Laptop, Intel Duo T3400 CPUs @2.16Ghz<br />Xubuntu 9.10 x86_64