X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Missing dependencies

Hello;
    I'm still fairly new to Linux and Kubuntu, I've been happily using it for almost roughly a week now and I've been pretty much "glitch-less" but today I got a strange error while checking for new software packages on "K-Package-Kit" it told there was dependencies missing, it told me to use a more advanced package manger such as Synaptic or Aptitude I tried looking for both of those and I don't have either nor can I find a relevant page to download them from, may someone please hand me a link to either of those or tell me perhaps another way to fix this issue?

Re: Missing dependencies

Just open a console and type:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install synaptic
    It will show in K > Applications > System
    Using Kubuntu Linux since March 23, 2007
    "It is a capital mistake to theorize before one has data." - Sherlock Holmes

Comment

Re: Missing dependencies

If you search for synaptic (no upper case letters) you will find it.

It may not solve the dependency problem. On rare occasions a developer will fail to publish all the dependent applications that a package requires, or a spelling typo may be the problem, etc.. So, synaptic may see the same problem. If it doesn't then that will be great. If it, too, warns of a dependency problem then wait a day or two and retry.

BTW, IMO, synaptic is the BEST package manager. I use it to add or remove individual packages.
      But, for updates and security patches, etc., I let the notifier send the info to kpackagekit, which pops up when I respond to the notification.

But, for desktop or dist upgrades I use apt-get:
      sudo apt-get udpate (to refresh the cache)
      sudo apt-get upgrade (to upgrade apps with new versions)
      or
      sudo apt-get dist-upgrade (to upgrade the distro itself, or KDE)

Adn, as Snowhog points out, apt-get is an excellent tool to install individual apps, IF you know the exact spelling of the app.