This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Kubuntu file server

ok still a noob here so ill just ask so i dont have to use a year to figure it oute:P

the thing is: for a few years ago @ school we learned aboute servers and sutch but that was mainly windows server and mac os x.

then my teacher brought with him a allready configured kubuntu server. The sweet thing with it was that i could make users in the user manager in kubuntu and set share settings on the home folder to that user. i`v tryed that on my kubuntu server now and nothing happends, i set up a test user with its own home file. then i went into his own home file in share this file and nothing happends. i dont get up a new window just no nothing.

SO my question is: what can he have done with it?? enny programs that`s got to be installed? ennything i`m doing wrong(probobly this one:P). or could there be somthing wrong with my os? witch is the last kubuntu relese!

i can remember that we allso used a client called Putty to configure the server remotly. and when you logged on to the server with its local ip you`d get up a web page with all the stuff he set to share.

again YES i`m a noob and i`m asking for help here so dont snap my neck for it!!

Re: Kubuntu file server

I'm not quite sure what you've done and so I don't know why it didn't work. I'm not sure what you mean when you say "set share settings". Are you referring to User, Group, and All permission settings on files, network access or something else? What exactly did you do when you "went into his own home file in share this file"? Does that mean that you (as root) navigated to the user's home directory and tried to read or write a file? What program were you using to do all this? Were you on the same computer, or were you logged on to the user's computer via a network? If the latter, what software were you using?