This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

is dapper more user friendly?

i tried various linux distros so far, got furthest with suse, and always came back to xp. my question is simple really, is dapper drake more user friendly, for a complete newbie, than breezy badger was?

appreciate your feedback.
    thanks!

Re: is dapper more user friendly?

I think the simple answer to your question is "no" Dapper is more up to date with latest technology but fundamentally using it isn't much different to Breezy (in my opinion)

However, what do you mean by "user friendly" What do you want it to do? Fundamentally Linux in any form will represent a learning curve over Windows, just because its different.

Without answering this question its tough to know quite what you are looking for.

As you've asked this in a Kubuntu forum and therefore presumably use KDE then you could try Mepis. Or you could try Dapper in Gnome form (Ubuntu) or XFCE form (Xubuntu) as some people would assert that these desktop environments are simpler (and therefore maybe more user friendly) than KDE. However, if you want help with learning Linux using Kubuntu then this is a great place to post questions

Comment

i thought so. well basically i'm looking for a fast and stable os. i want to be able to watch movies on dvd, divx, etc. (that was a pain in the ass with suse), listen to mp3's on my 5.1 surround sound, with all speakers working, before i had sound from 2 front speakers only. usual home pc stuff. what drove me away from ubuntu/kubuntu, and linux in general, was the inability to resolve those common problems.

Comment

Sigh... well - you can usually resolve all of those problems on any of the linux systems. but its difficult to pretend its as easy as Windows.

As you want Multimedia to work out of the box - Mepis is supposed to be easier. The other one to try is Linspire

Comment