This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

/home partition

Hi everybody, as this forum says, I'm new with Linux, but this distribution is just too awesome! There's some questions I'd like to have answered before I can enjoy Kubuntu full-time!

First : When I've installed Kubuntu, I've created a partition for my /home directories. Once everything is done I look to my primary partition / and I saw that there was my /home and that it duplicate what I had in my /home partition?! Is it really some kind of copy or what?!

Second : What about the new hardware? What are the chance that Kubuntu recognize say an AMD 64 X2 5000+ and the new Nvidia 7950 1Gbit 2xGPUs?? (A dream I have in mind but not yet reality :P )

Thanks for any help,

Peter

Re: /home partition

When your separate partition is "mounted" at /home, it means that when you go to the /home "folder," what you're really seeing is not a folder within your / partition but rather a link to your separate /home partition.

It's like a Windows shortcut or Mac alias.
    Linux is ready for the desktop--but whose desktop?<br />How to install software in Kubuntu

Comment

ooooohhhhhh thanks man you cheer me up now!

Peter

Comment

Nvidia cards tend to be pretty well supported by the drivers from nvidia. I don't think the current release includes support for the 7950, but I'm pretty confident there'll be a new release soon which does. (eg. the 7900 is supported)

The CPU should just work, though you might want to install a 64bit version of the OS to take full advantage of it, if you currently have the 32bit version installed. (There is a 64bit version of kubuntu, don't worry ).

But with intel's conroe coming out soon, and the price cuts coming on July 23rd, I'm personally going to wait just that little bit longer before my next upgrade

Comment

Originally posted by marble