Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

(Solved) Software Sources/Repositories, Should I keep default?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

(Solved) Software Sources/Repositories, Should I keep default?

Hi, I'm fairly new to linux. Is it a good idea to fool with the repositories?

For example, should i check off main, universe, multiverse, and restricted?

AND

What about the kubuntu updates? Like the important security, recommended, pre-released, and unsupported stuff?
    Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T5750 @ 2.00GHz<br />Mobile PM965/GM965/GL960 Memory Controller Hub

Re: Software Sources/Repositories, Should I keep default?

Hi

Every question is an important question

This really answers it all much better than I could:
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Repositories/Ubuntu

Updates are also discussed there. I would neither recommend the proposed updates, nor the unsupported ones. At least initially. You might need one or the other as a workaround in some very rare situation, but in principle they are not as safe.

Enjoy Freedom!

Comment

Here is a link to the linklist > FAQ: Repositories

What are the repositories, Main, Restricted, Universe, Multiverse, Backports, Medibuntu, PPA, etc ...
      Before you edit, BACKUP !

Why there are dead links ?
      1. Thread: Please explain how to access old kubuntu forum posts
      2. Thread: Lost Information

Comment

One new to Linux/Kubuntu should locate and read as much as they can about how Linux/Kubuntu works. This is not meant to imply that one has to become an expert - I'm not - but one should become familiar with 'the basics.'