This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help the newby please

Hi everyone, i am very new to linux and have just downloaded Kubuntu from the web and i have tried installing the system from boot up and keep getting this error message: " [0.888002]..MP-BIOS bug:8254 timer not connected to IO-APIC". If anyone is able to help me with this problem i would greatly appreciate it, thanks Brad.

Re: Help the newby please

First, welcome. Second, you have not provided nearly enough information for us to work with. What version of Kubuntu did you download? What PC do you have? How much RAM? What make/model of video card? What type of CPU? And finally, are you able to boot from the LiveCD at all, i.e., can you run it from the LiveCD?
    Windows no longer obstructs my view.
    Using Kubuntu Linux since March 23, 2007.
    "It is a capital mistake to theorize before one has data." - Sherlock Holmes

Comment

Oops!, sorry guys. Well my mother board is an asus board based on the VIA kt400 chipset and i have 1.25 gb of ram, the cpu is an AMD Athlon xp 1600+, and i think the video card is an ASUS geforce3 . the version of kubuntu i am trying to install is 9.04 Desktop. I hope this helps, Brad

Comment

I am writing this message on a machine with an Athlon 4600+. I had (what may be) the same problem you seem to have, a couple of years ago. I found THIS POST which solved MY problem. The problem, of course, is that my motherboard does not have an Intel 8254 IO-APIC (duh!). Neither, I suspect, does yours.

However, this may not work for you. I have not had to do this (automated by adding "noapic" to /boot/grub/menu.lst) in at least a year. Thus, your problem may have nothing to do with mine. Try it, though, used as a manual boot entry, it can't hurt. If it works, I'll tell you exactly where to add "noapic" in /boot/grub/menu.lst.

Comment

maybe there is something here that might help.

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=191355