This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

installing applications from a flashdrive

I have kubuntu 9.04 and an acer aspire 3680, im not asking about the wifi card though :P
    Im pretty new to kubuntu and i was wondering how I can install applications without using apt-get because my laptop cant connect to wireless yet.

~thanks
    Kubuntu9.04 AcerAspire3680

Re: installing applications from a flashdrive

Are you able to connect using a network cable? That's by far the simplest way. You should find that if you connect a network cable, running to your router or modem, it'll just work immediately.

Comment

Perhaps so, Might be easier than trying to manually install.
      just wanted to know in case I dont have any connection in the future.
      Like downloading the repositories. onto a different drive and having the apt-get take from there when it can connect online.
      Kubuntu9.04 AcerAspire3680

Comment

I'm going to give a sorta high-level recommendation, and then you'll have to do the searches to get the finer detail on how to execute it.

The "Alternate Install" CD has many more packages included than the Live CD, so you should download (via some other computer, I guess) the Alternate Install CD ISO file. You could burn it according to instructions for making a Linux CD (see FAQ #1 in the link in my signature), but that won't get you what you want, wrt to the USB stick capability.

So, you will save the ISO image file to the USB stick. Then you will need to mount the ISO image (instructions are elsewhere on this forum).

Finally, you will need to set the mounted ISO as a "CD" source in your sources.list (KpackageKit, synaptic, or whatever you're using for package management). So, with your Alternate Install "CD" available, all the Kubuntu packages that are included on it will be available for installation on your laptop, with no Internet connection.