Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

[SOLVED] Is this tutorial completely correct and up to date with Jaunty?!?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[SOLVED] Is this tutorial completely correct and up to date with Jaunty?!?

Here is the link to a tutorial on how to make your PC dual boot linux and winXP, with linux (ubuntu) installed first.

Since I still consider myself to be a complete noob on all things linux/kubuntu and I wouldn't want to run in a lot of trouble somewhere halfway the process, I would like to ask the savvy ones among you to check this article and please tell me if the given info is completely correct and still valid for Jaunty?!? Thanks very much!!

Somewhere in the replies, I read that SATA might cause some problems?!?

Re: Is this tutorial completely correct and up to date with Jaunty?!?

Yes.

If you need GRUB-specific info or fixing things:
    -- How To GRUB Methods - Toolkit
    http://kubuntuforums.net/forums/inde...opic=3081671.0
    An intellectual says a simple thing in a hard way. An artist says a hard thing in a simple way. Charles Bukowski

Comment

Originally posted by Qqmike
      Yes.

If you need GRUB-specific info or fixing things:
      -- How To GRUB Methods - Toolkit
      http://kubuntuforums.net/forums/inde...opic=3081671.0
      ...yes.. as in - yes, the tutorial is correct? Or - yes, there are issues with SATA....?!?

Comment

both.........yes the guide is fine and yes windows may have probs with SATA rad controlers......or may not....... if you use sutch things and have the fermware drivers windows will tell you when to load them.

if you just go ahead and follow the guide and windows dosent install right you can allways reclame the disk space for Kubuntu later.

be shure to read up on the GRUB stuff as windows WILL over rite it.

VINNY
        i7 4core HT 8MB L3 2.9GHz
        16GB RAM
        Nvidia GTX 860M 4GB RAM 1152 cuda cores

Comment