This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Beginner's Questions

Sorry, I'm sure everyone asks these questions and I have spent the last 60 minutes reading round to see if I could solve them myself but found nothing,
    I downloaded and installed Kubuntu yesterday. I have no previous experience with any kind of Linux.
    My version came with the KDE 4.2.2 desktop but the Konqueror browser does not allow me to access my Yahoo mail account using the 'all new' version.
    I am used to the Firefox browser, so I downloaded the Linux version but cannot 'install' it. I manged to unpack or unzip it but cannot find the equivalent of a Windows .exe install file. What am I missing?

A similar question goes for RealPlayer. My favourite radio station only plays through Real so I downloaded the Linux version. I now have a 'bin' file on my PC that does nothing. What should I do with this.

To finish, I have seen there are a number of options of Linux files to download .deb, .fed, etc. Which should I choose for Kubuntu?

Thanks

Re: Beginner's Questions

I recommend you review the FAQs linked in my signature, plus this:

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Repositories/Ubuntu

to get started.

And .... Welcome!

p.s. -- don't try installing downloaded software, until you've learned about the 26,000 packages already available in the standard repositories.

Comment

I am used to the Firefox browser and I have already downloaded the Linux version but cannot 'install' it.
      Connect to the internet, open a Terminal and issue the command:
      sudo apt-get install firefox-3.5
      My favourite radio station only plays through Real so I downloaded the Linux version. I now have a 'bin' file on my PC that does nothing. What should I do with this.