X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Kubuntu 9.04 Rox.. Newb having some troubles with Java/Firefox at UCO

Hey guys,

Im totally new to Linux. Ive been a ME for about 15 years.. used to program old school code. Also did most computer work in DOS, laf. I finally got off the MS pole and jumped in with Jaunty. After a few hurdles, Ive got about 95% of everything I need running great. (My CAD software isnt going to happen without virtual box or something like that, but no biggie)

Heres my problem. I attend the University of Central OK. To use their wireless network, it runs something called Nortel Health agent as soon as you open a browser. It worked fine with IE.. It wont work with my Firefox 3. (It says it works with Firefox and Linux)
    The school system does pop up a note stating that if you are having issues with Java 6 in Linux, try switching to Java 5. I went though the sudo aptitude command and installed Java 5 and the plugin. When I run Java tester in FF, it still shows the java 6 version. How can I get Java 5 working instead??

Thanks for any help you can provide, and Hello to everyone!
    (So far Im loving being MS free!!!)

Re: Kubuntu 9.04 Rox.. Newb having some troubles with Java/Firefox at UCO

You might want to take a look at the "Browser ID" function in Konqueror, in which you can get it to pretend to be IE 6 or whatever you need it to be. It's been awhile since I used it (I do like Firefox), but it can come in very handy in a situation like yours.

Settings > Configure Konqueror > Browser Identification.

Comment

Alternatively in the repositories there is the package user agent switcher which is basically a ubuntu package of the firefox extension of the same name.

One installed, you will find it in FF in the tools menu. Select IE7 in vista and I suspect the issue will go away. Sad I know but needed sometimes.

Comment

...Or find the computer experts, the people who put up the system, at the University and ask them what you can do...