Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

SOLVED::::PLEASE HELP ME!!!!! Newbie with some easy Kubuntu 9.04 questions.

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

SOLVED::::PLEASE HELP ME!!!!! Newbie with some easy Kubuntu 9.04 questions.

Ok so I am VERY new to Linux and I have no clue how I even got this far in the installation...but let me start form the beginning, with some of my main concerns. I do need to let all of you tech speakers that I am not very savvy in your lingo so when you say " you have to change the code to this and run this command on this..." 9 times out of 10 I have no clue what you are saying to me, just so we are all clear.

1) I originally wanted to use my windoze AND Kubuntu 9.04 but I am not sure if I can still do it. The instructions said to boot from the CD that I created, and then it would give me options, (which one i want to run with that day, I assumed) I did get that option after the first reboot after I created the CD, but after that I was never offered an option again (which OS i wanted to log into)...so in short, whenever I reboot, I automatically go straight into Kubuntu....can that be fixed/changed?

2) I cannot seem to follow any of the directions on how to install anything. All I want to install is Firefox, (I feel more at home with her)but I have no clue how to save anything to my desktop. Also, ever since I started messing with Kubuntu, I noticed I have no sound so I assume that I need to install my 5.0 (using usb port). Again bare with me because I am a newbie right out of the box. (why did I ever choose that freaking red pill).
    Also, just to let you know, I did try to DL Firefox from every website out there and I have no clue where I downloaded it to. (something called Ark, is where everything seems so be going)