This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

cannot sudo to update

I have searched the forum and don't seem able to find this. I have just installed Kubuntu. No matter what I do, whenever I run any of the X-based update tools (adept, update-manager) using kdesudo it says that I'll have to run this as root. When I go to a shell and sudo apt-get it says the same. When I sudo -i to get into a shell as root, apt-get update starts, but then says the database is corrupt and tells me to force it. Try that, crash.

I have installed 5.10, was going to upgrade to 6.06. I could do that from a CD, but I just wonder what in the world is going on. I have never used a Linux with disabled root before. Maybe I don't understand the concept??

John Thayer Jensen
    j.jensen@auckland.ac.nz

Re: cannot sudo to update

the password you set up for your user is the sudo password, the first one if you set up more than one user on your machine. So try the password you use to login to your desktop as the sudo password.

https://wiki.ubuntu.com/RootSudo?hig...rootsudo%29has some more info on the subject of sudo

Comment

The correct command is "kdesu adept", but launching Adept from the K Menu should automatically ask you for your administrator password (see claydoh's post).

Btw, there's no update-manager in Kubuntu, AFAIK.
      Jucato's Data Core

Comment