This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How do i set up my wireless internet?

I'm new to linux, just installed 2 says ago after windows 7 on my Vostro 1000. I've been trying to install and use ndiswrapper to get my driver to work following this guide:http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.p...+Wireless+1390
    i got all the way to installing the driver, which worked fine. But nothing after that step worked. i typed this:
    niklas@niklas-laptop:~/DRIVER_US$ sudo ndiswrapper -l
    WARNING: All config files need .conf: /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist, it will be ignored in a future release.
    WARNING: All config files need .conf: /etc/modprobe.d/ndiswrapper, it will be ignored in a future release.
    bcmwl6 : driver installed
    device (14E4:4312) present (alternate driver: ssb)

i tried following the steps to the end, but after i finished the wifi light on my laptop did not light up. Need help!!

Re: How do i set up my wireless internet?

if your laptop has a wifi "hard switch" then be sure its on .. other wise it might only when connected.. (mine blink on activity) you should also open konsole (find it in your "K" menu) and run
    Code:
    iwconfig
    you should see some thing like

Code:
    lo    no wireless extensions.

eth0   no wireless extensions.

wlan0 <info about your card here>
    if you get the info about your card then the driver is correct...
    and it should be because
    Originally posted by your ndiswrapper output
    bcmwl6 : driver installed
    Originally posted by you ndiswrapper output
    WARNING: All config files need .conf: /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist, it will be ignored in a future release.
    WARNING: All config files need .conf: /etc/modprobe.d/ndiswrapper, it will be ignored in a future release.
    nothing other then a message to the devs of the program