X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Changing a slave harddrive

Hey Guys,
    Very new here and learning alot Thanks!
    Right now I have a 10gig master and a 6.5 slave harddrive on an old p2 computer to learn Kubuntu on. Well starting with 8.1 intrepd and kde4.1 I I'm really liking this, now I'm down to 4.7 gig available. I picked up a 40 gig hd to expand. I'd like to keep what I have plus dual boot with the new 9.0.4 with kde2.2.
    I'm thinking I'll replace the 6.5 slave with the 40. Can this be accomplished or do I need to start new with clean installs?

Re: Changing a slave harddrive

No, you don't need to start new. You can install a second copy of Linux on a slave drive and use GRUB to boot from the master or slave. You can share the third drive between the two of them if you wanted. Boot from a Live CD, install it to the slave drive and hopefully if all goes smoothly, GRUB will configure itself and you can boot to 8.1 or 9.04.
    linux && bash = "the future"

Comment

How can I tell what is on the current slave drive?

Comment

You need to mount it. From your original post I thought you were already using the 6.5 gig as a slave drive under Linux. It's not real clear what you are trying to accomplish. If you want to use all 3 drives than I'll assume you have two IDE controllers in your old p2. I would use the 10 and 6.5 gig as masters (they store the OS files) and the 40 gig as a slave that is shared between the other two. You don't have a master and two slaves. The old IDE specification supports one master and one slave on each IDE controller. I would format the 40 gig, mount it and copy the files on the 6.5 gig to the 40 gig drive then install 9.04 on the 6.5 gig.
        linux && bash = "the future"

Comment

@L.A., your plan to "learn by doing" on the old PC is a very good one!