X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[SOLVED] kubuntu 8.04 - window titlebar missing

hi all.
    I'm new to Linux, using kubuntu 8.04, kde 3.5.1 and the window titlebar does not appear every time i reboot. along with the minimize and maximize buttons so i can not move windows around the screen.
    i have found that the problem is solved when i type:
    "sudo kwin --replace"
    but i have to do every time i reboot.
    any ideas for a more temporary solution??

Re: kubuntu 8.04 - window titlebar missing

Originally posted by bumscag
    "sudo kwin --replace"
    don't run it with sudo, kwin is supposed to run as a user (just 'kwin --replace' after a fresh boot with no titlebars, otherwise you may need to kill the running kwin first)

If that doesn't help, report back.

Comment

when i run without sudo, the titlebars go away when i close the terminal window :S

Comment

when i run without sudo, the titlebars go away when i close the terminal window :S
        Either use the Alt+F2 run dialog or 'kwin --replace &' in konsole.

The '&' detaches the kwin process from the konsole window so it won't die when the parent process dies.

Comment

still no titlebars when i reboot

Comment

still no titlebars when i reboot
            Looks like kwin doesn't start with your kde session for some reason.

You can check whether ~/.xsession-errors contains any useful kwin errors:
            Code:
            grep -e "^kwin" ~/.xsession-errors
            You can also troubleshoot by creating a new user and trying if kwin starts with that user (alternatively you can rename your ~/.kde folder to something like ~/.kde_old, this will create a fresh default kde for your user in the next login...do not delete ~/.kde as it contains your emails if you use kmail, and possibly other valuable data. You can rename it back after you've tested the fresh settings).

This should tell us if it's a system wide or a user issue.

Comment