This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Any help will be greatly appreciated

Just installed the latest Kubuntu MCE on my Sager 9750 small boat anchor.

Nvidia GO 7800GTX
    4 GB
    AMD FX60 dual-core

Should be all good... I hope.

I am completely new to Linux. I won't even know how to run an app, if I ever get inside.

Kubuntu loads, with a very soothing logo and progress bar...
    Then drops to a black screen, no display.
    I have been reading for a day now, and still no closer to video...
    I have the nvidia drivers, I think (NVIDIA-Linux-x86-171.05-pkg1.run), on another PC.
    If I had, even "safe mode", video, I MIGHT be able to figure out how to use this file.
    I have absolutely no clue (YET) where to start from the "command line" that I CAN get to.

grub>

Even HELP gets me gasping for air a bit... and I'm pretty good from the Windows command line.
    Can anyone here guide me through getting me into the GUI? Or getting my driver loaded?
    I PRESUME this is a video driver issue.

Thanks

Re: Any help will be greatly appreciated

Just curious --- did you try the Kubuntu LiveCD before you installed it?
    "A nation that is afraid to let its people judge the truth and falsehood in an open market is a nation that is afraid of its people.”
    – John F. Kennedy, February 26, 1962.

Comment

Negative... My bad I'm sure. I can do that if needed I suppose.
      Will that be a fresh d'load? Or can I do it from the DVD I have?
      I burned the LinuxMCE 0710 DVD...

Comment

It may be a video driver problem but it may not. Depending on which CD you used you my just need to upgrade the installation to the latest. If you used the Jaunty CD this is almost certainly true and can not hurt in any case. It will also get you started. So..

Ctl-Alt-F1 will get you to virtual terminal 1. (2-6 are also available, 7 is X the GUI) Login and run "sudo aptitude update"
        type in your password (not roots password) to get root privileges