This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Kubuntu 8.10 Live USB Persistence

Ok, so I am new to Kubuntu, but have been using Ubuntu for about 2 years so I know my way around. I decided to give KDE4 a shot with Kubuntu, and I wanted to use my USB Flash Drive to install Kubuntu 8.10 with usb-creator. Everything went perfectly fine, but when I try to boot with the USB Flash Drive, I get the following error from the BIOS: "Invalid or damaged bootable partition"

I used the How-To explained here: http://www.pendrivelinux.com/usb-kub...a-usb-creator/

What do I have to do to get it to boot? Thanks.

Re: Kubuntu 8.10 Live USB Persistence

See (only) Reply #1 (usb-creator) here:
    Build a LIVE Kubuntu Flash Drive
    http://kubuntuforums.net/forums/inde...089474.new#new

In your case, be sure to zero-out the Master Boot Record of your flash drive, then partition it using GParted as either ext2 or ext3.

You have corruption or some other past bootloader code in your MBR right now.
    Zero-out the MBR and it will be like new again.
    Then run GParted.
    GParted may ask you if you'd like to set a new DOS volume Label; if so, say Yes.
    Then partition/format.
    Then run usb-creator.

An intellectual says a simple thing in a hard way. An artist says a hard thing in a simple way. Charles Bukowski

Comment

Wow, thanks. I'll definately try that. The flash drive I am using is actually a Centon 1 GB MP3 Player, so it probably already has an MBR that I have yet to remove. But I assume that once I remove the MBR, I wont be able to use it as an MP3 player anymore?

Comment

Now THAT is a good question. Not familiar with how the MP3 is set up. Please be careful and not mess it up for yourself!