Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

About as green as you can possibly be....

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

About as green as you can possibly be....

Hello everyone. Well, I'm new to these forums and to linux (although I have played with other distros before), however I am in no way proficient with any linux system yet (I would go so far to say that even novices have more experience than I do). However, as with anything new I understand there will be difficulties as I go and by working through them I'll improve. Basically, if someone wouldn't mind helping me with a few problems / questions that I have it would be GREATLY appreciated!

1. My major issue at the moment - I have tried for a while now (with my Dad as well) to get my wireless internet working but the only thing that will make the internet work is if I actually plug in an ethernet cable (which is a relief of some kind - at least it shows that my Atheros wireless card is supported). This is my greatest stressor at the moment, as I would like to learn and use Kubuntu 8.10 a lot more in the future (hopefully replacing 95% of the time I spend with Windows), however without the internet I know that I will probably give up.

2. In almost every Linux forum I've looked, there are people who just give console commands like they're nothing. For example (sudo apt-get blah blah). How the heck do they know 'exactly' what the name of the package is?! It's beyond me, that's for sure.

You can probably see how much of a hopeless case I am with Linux, and I hope you and I can help rectify this somewhat.

Thanks in advance for your time

Re: About as green as you can possibly be....

Hi, here is one link that may help with your wireless:
    http://kubuntuforums.net/forums/inde...opic=3100137.0

and here http://kubuntuforums.net/forums/inde...opic=3099811.0
    #8 (also the others have lots of useful info)