X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Partition Sizes and How to Set Them Up

Hey all!

I had been running Vista for the past 6 months or more. I used to run XP/Vista/Mint with a 4th shared partition for documents and other files (music, word documents, pictures, etc.). Anyway, I ran out of HDD space and had to go to just Vista for practical reasons (needed it for school programs). Now I got an external HDD for many of my files and have room for Linux again. Over the weekend I used gParted and shrunk down my Vista partition which was previously using all 110GB of my HDD. I shrunk it down to 42GB but it still has some files in it. I installed Kubuntu quickly on the left over space. I wasn't too sure what I was doing as far as setting up seperate swap, home, and / partitions. I attempted to manually create a swap partition but didn't know how to make the installation read it.

To skip my life story above, relevant info starts below here.

So anyway, I have Kubuntu running and love it, but I want to reinstall it with more practical partitions. I plan to take all my documents that are currently stored in Vista and put them on my external HDD temporarily. I want to then shrink Vista as small as I reasonably can. I'll give it 5-10 GB more than it needs in case I want to install anything else on it down the road (I figure that should be more than enough).