Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

need help with setting up graphics card(intel gma x3100)

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

need help with setting up graphics card(intel gma x3100)

Hello

I have been using Linux on and off for a couple of years and i have always gone back to windows because i could never figure out how to install/configure my video card.

so I'm trying again...

i have a new laptop.
    Inspiron 1525
    core 2 duo 2.0 ghz
    3gb ram
    Intel gma x3100(i guess it's 965 chipset?)

xorg.conf
    Code:
    Section "Device"
    	Identifier	"Configured Video Device"
    EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    	Identifier	"Configured Monitor"
    EndSection

Section "Screen"
    	Identifier	"Default Screen"
    	Monitor		"Configured Monitor"
    	Device		"Configured Video Device"
    EndSection
    i can't remember anything else where the videocard info is...so if you need anymore info ask.

oh btw I'm using the latest kubuntu build(and stable upgrades)

Re: need help with setting up graphics card(intel gma x3100)

What specifically are you looking ot configure? I'm runnign the GMA965 in a thinkpad, and it works great without any additional config.
    # make install --not-war

Comment

right i guess i should have said that.

it's just slow running kde(not really slow just enough to be annoying). my system can run vista with no problems at all so i should think it can run kde without any performance issues. and since i paid for the better processor and memory, the only thing i can think of that is hurting my performance is the video card. and when i looked in the xorg.conf file and didn't see anything specific about the card i figured it was not configured correctly.