This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How do I safely delete unneeded files from /

The partition of 11.6g on which / is mounted has completely filed up. I did a search on *.log and came up with an incredible number which had accumulated. I want to delete as many files which are safe to delete as I can from the partition in which / is mounted without having to do it one file at a time using konqueror. Being a newbie I do NOT know which files are safe to delete, and that is what my post is asking--how do I go about recapturing space in the / partition without having to delete files one at a time using knowledge I do not possess.

Re: How do I safely delete unneeded files from /

Not my specialty, as it seems sometimes I'm not sure what I know about Linux root filesystem structure

but, here's some stuff I wrote, and I'm afraid it takes a high-level, safe approach, like that you'd get with sweeper (8.10) or kcontrol (8.04), but you can also go to apps and dig into their caches and so on; more specific examples/ideas for you to pursue here:

Privacy Cleanup 101
    http://kubuntuforums.net/forums/inde....msg115011#new
    Reply #5: About kcontrol
    Reply #8: How to Delete Data from Your Hard Drives & USB Drives
    See Reply #10: Privacy Cleanup 101: Update/Summary for Intrepid Ibex KDE4
    An intellectual says a simple thing in a hard way. An artist says a hard thing in a simple way. Charles Bukowski

Comment

Root being filled up can be remedied by cleaning the apt package caches. You might need to boot into recovery (single user) mode if you can't boot into the desktop.

From the prompt type:
      Code:
      apt-get clean
      (or sudo apt-get clean)

man apt-get
      clean
      clean clears out the local repository of retrieved package files.
      It removes everything but the lock file from
      /var/cache/apt/archives/ and /var/cache/apt/archives/partial/. When