X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Admin rights

Hello all,

I am very new to Linux.. but i have to say i have fallen in love with Kubuntu :P

Im just wondering if anyone can help me:

How do i get Admin rights under kubuntu? I only have one user shouldnt I be admin?

Re: Admin rights

You are admin and you arent;

Ok, you can get admin rights for a single program at a time.
    For graphical programs run "kdesu program" or "kdesudo program"
    for console programs run "sudo program"
    Join the dark side<br />---------------------------------------------------------------------<br />Samsung NC10 netbook running<br />PCLinuxOS 2010 // Win XP

Comment

Ok.. I wanted to move some files so i typed "sudo dolphin" into konsole
      entered password
      Up came dolphin and it worked!

Thanks a million!

Comment

just a suggestion...if you are using a GUI program (like dolphin), instead of using sudo, one of the following:

Kubuntu 8.10, use kdesudo,
        Kubuntu 8.04 or lower, use kdesu.

It has to do with the way each command deals with files it accesses, and you run the risk in rare circumstances to screw up file permissions if you use sudo for GUI programs.

mm0
        Dell Inspiron 1720 Laptop<br />Intel T9300 Core2Duo Processor @ 2.5Ghz<br />4 GB Ram | 1920 X 1200 Resolution<br />2 X 160 GB SATA HD Internal<br />Nvidia GeForce 8600M Graphics Adapter<br />Using Kubuntu 9.10

Comment

Much appreciated! Works fine too!

Comment

Originally posted by kaedan
            Ok.. I wanted to move some files so i typed "sudo dolphin" into konsole
            entered password
            Up came dolphin and it worked!

Thanks a million!
            Be very careful doing this!

If the "files" are supposed to be user data, and you move them "as root", i.e. with a dolphin session in root mode, they will be saved with root privileges. Then a user will not be able to write over them. Is this what you intend?

Comment