This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Multiple Kubuntu issues.

I'm a programmer/designer/developer with a custom 64-bit pc. I just uninstalled Ubuntu today, because it was disfunctional and unmanagable to my standards. I returned to linux in favor of Kubuntu.
    First, I'd like to compliment Kubuntu. It has a great style and flashy design, right out-of-the-box. It also comes with handy applications like a browser, audio player, browser, etc. That said, it has a few misgivings.
    First of all I use instant messenging often for communication. I opened and configured Kopete, which I like and am getting familiar with. Only problem is
    1. It displays every user on my list. Offline as well. I have a huge number of contacts, so I group them, and every group is littered with offline users which I have to sift through. Is there any way I can set it to never show these offline users, so I can make use of IM?
    2. No firefox support? Konqueror is good and all, but I've notices serious disfunction with web applications I use regularly.
    Also, my reasearch led me to beleive Kubuntu was an Ubuntu subproject, with the same linux kernal and a KDE interface. Thus, I thought I could run all the applications I could on Ubuntu? Apparently not. I tried to install Firefox as an alternative to Konqueror, and substitute Pidgen for Kopete, but the adept installer is not capable. Can I still make use of these applications by installing them by hand, or enabling third-party sources in Adept Installer?
    Please and thank you for your help, I'm very interested in Kubuntu but am having a hard time working myself into it.

Re: Multiple Kubuntu issues.

Originally posted by akirablaid
    1. It displays every user on my list. Offline as well. I have a huge number of contacts, so I group them, and every group is littered with offline users which I have to sift through. Is there any way I can set it to never show these offline users, so I can make use of IM?