This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How well does Wine work?

Just wondering because once again I am totally new to a linux OS...

From what I have read on it from their website it is useful in running windows based apps on a linux based OS.... so do most windows apps work through this program? Or is it limited in what it can actually do?

I just ask because I have a Zune with quite a bit of media on it and i don't want to lose the ability to use it or take the chance of losing my files.. (I do have them backed on an external HD though so I guess I wouldn't lose the files eh?

But i would still like to be able to use the player I already have instead of moneying up for another one.

Re: How well does Wine work?

I do not have a zune, but I understand it uses mtp for transfers etc. libmtp is quite well established on Linux, so it should just be accessible natively using amarok (not v2, the media management bit is not written yet).

M$ even gave the devs of the project a zune to work with (amazing). I have a sony NWZ-S639F that uses the same. I can either use it as a mass storage, or use mtp to sync cover art, podcasts etc. You should not have to use wine.

If you go to the wine website and look at the appdb ( http://appdb.winehq.org/ ) it will give ratings for many common applications and how well they work.

Comment

Originally posted by stealthbanana
      I do not have a zune, but I understand it uses mtp for transfers etc. libmtp is quite well established on Linux, so it should just be accessible natively using amarok (not v2, the media management bit is not written yet).

M$ even gave the devs of the project a zune to work with (amazing). I have a sony NWZ-S639F that uses the same. I can either use it as a mass storage, or use mtp to sync cover art, podcasts etc. You should not have to use wine.